Guiltless Chocolate Brownies

Ok guys, I know what your thinking. How can I write a blog without including a recipe for my all time favorite dessert…my beloved brownies! This is a healthy recipe so you can have your cake and eat it too…well brownies in this case. The avocados make the chocolate so creamy (it’s a match made in chocolate heaven). My husband was skeptical of these brownies at first, but he was surprised at how delicious they turned out (how dare him for ever doubting me). What got him was the chocolate gooey center, I knew it would!

image

2 Ripe Avocados

1 Cup Agave Nectar

1 Tbs Vanilla Extract

2 Eggs

1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour

1/3 Cup Unsweetened Cocoa Powder

1/4 Tsp Salt

1/4 Tbs Baking Powder

Dark Chocolate Candies (9-12 squares)

Preheat the oven to 350°. Mash the avocados in a large mixing bowl until smooth. Next add the eggs, vanilla extract, and Agave to the bowl and mix delicately by hand. I love using Agave since it is a natural sweetener. If you like it extra sweet (I know you’re out there), try melting some dark chocolate and pour some directly into the batter.

In a separate bowl, add the dry ingredients: whole wheat flour, cocoa powder, salt and baking powder.  Add to the wet ingredients and gently stir until combined, do not over mix. Pour into a greased baking dish (I like using a 9×9 square glass dish). Spread evenly.

Now the best part, take the dark chocolate pieces and push into the batter (I used 9 dove dark chocolate squares). Take the back of a spoon and cover the chocolates with the batter. This is what makes the yummy gooey middle (my favorite part), it’s the hidden FLAVOR. Bake for 25 minutes (no toothpick needed) and let cool.

Now it’s time to enjoy…ahhh my favorite dessert without any of the guilt. Just look at that gooey center and try to resist!

Happy Flavoring!

 

image

One thought on “Guiltless Chocolate Brownies”

Leave a comment