Cornbread Stuffing

Whether you call it stuffing or dressing, you’ll definitely call it delicious! This recipe is fool proof and goes perfectly with Thanksgiving turkey. Maybe it will even upstage that turkey, it is definitely my favorite part of Thanksgiving (I’d much rather stuff my belly with it instead of the bird 😉 ).

12 Cornbread Muffins

3 Cups Low Sodium Chicken Broth

1/2 Cup Onion

1 Cup Celery

2 Eggs

1 tsp Salt

4 Tbs Italian Seasoning

1 Tbs Canola Oil

Preheat the oven to 375°. In a large bowl, crumble the cornbread into pieces. I love cornbread and it’s the perfect texture for stuffing. I like to cook the cornbread the day before to let them dry out a little. Pour in the chicken stock and let the cornbread soak (how easy, it’s instant FLAVOR). In the meantime, chop the onion and celery and cook with the oil over medium heat with 1 tbs of the Italian seasoning until softened (about 4-5 minutes). (Oh that smell gets me every time, now it smells like Thanksgiving…let the parade begin…yay I think I just saw Snoopy). Add the onions and celery to the cornbread mixture.  Fold in the eggs and add the rest of the seasoning. Bake for 50 to 60 minutes until the top is golden brown.

Let cool and serve. What a great side to show off next to that gorgeous turkey (It may even distract everyone from that football game…give it a try) . Happy Thanksgiving and…

Happy Flavoring!

image

 

Leave a comment