Healthy Spaghetti and Meatballs

I know, another Italian recipe…I can’t help it I LOVE Italian food, it’s just so comforting! Plus these meatballs are healthier and are bursting with FLAVOR! They are perfect on a bed of spaghetti or even on a meatball sub, I’ll take it however I can get ;).

2 Servings of Whole Wheat Spaghetti

1 Pound Lean Ground Meat

1 Pound Turkey Sausage (Sweet or Spicy)

1 Tbs Garlic Powder

1 Tbs Onion Powder

1 Tbs Smoked Paprika

1/2 Tbs Italian Seasoning

1 1/2 Tbs Worcestershire Sauce

1/2 Tbs Salt

1/2 Tbs Pepper

image

Cook the pasta according to the package instructions. In the meantime mix the rest of the ingredients for the meatballs in a large mixing bowl. I believe the key to a perfect meatball is to marry two different kids of meat together along with the perfect blend of seasoning (it’s a match made in FLAVOR heaven!) I love to adjust the seasoning, so use more or less of what you like. The turkey sausage I use comes in a casing, so I just slice it open and remove it from the casing, very easy! Now it’s time to roll them into balls. I like to make them bite size, but you can make them as little or BIG as you want :).

Next brown the meatballs in two batches in a large skillet with a few drizzles of oil. In the meantime, heat up the sauce in a dutch oven or large pot over low heat. (Try my homemade tomato sauce recipe also listed on my blog 😉 ) Once the meatballs are browned place them in the warm sauce, it’s a meatball hot tub! Cover and let cook for about 15 minutes until cooked all the way through. This will make them so moist and delicious…my mouth is already watering!

Now they are ready to serve on a nice bed of spaghetti, how delicious does that look! It goes perfectly with a nice glass of wine…ahh now that’s comforting!

Happy Flavoring!

image

Leave a comment